New at Lardanchet. Free shipping for all of mainland France
for purchases over € 140.

> Catalogue

CHARLOTTE PERRIAND ET LE JAPON

CHARLOTTE PERRIAND ET LE JAPON
Enlarge

  • AuthorJacques Barsac
  • PublisherNorma
  • Date of publication2018-05-23
  • Language(s)French
  • IllustrationsColour, b&w ill.
  • Pages334
  • DescriptionGrand format - Livre relié
  • Price (VAT incl.)49.00 €
  • AvailabilityShipping within 48 hours

Invited in 1940 by the Japanese government to guide the country's industrial art production, Charlotte Perriand (1903-1999) encountered ancestral thought - theism - and architecture, in line with the modernist precepts she defended with Le Corbusier and Pierre Jeanneret. The development of her "art d'habiter", which profoundly changed the French way of life in the 1950s, was born in part from the reflections and studies she carried out during her mission in Japan.

Her exhibitions in Japan, her publications and studies, her achievements in Tokyo - Jacques Martin's house (1953), the Air France agency (1959) - and in Paris - the residence of the Japanese ambassador (1966-1969), the Shiki Fabric House showroom (1975) and the Unesco Tea House (1993) - all bear witness to the links between Western and Japanese cultures and their mutual enrichment.

This book, which retraces half a century of dialogue between Charlotte Perriand and Japan, is based on previously unpublished archives, notes and drawings that reveal the freedom of thought of this great creative artist in the face of the challenges of a complex period. It is a precious lesson for new generations of architects and designers, but also for the people of today.

 

Price (VAT incl.) : 49.00 €

Checkout

Interior decoration

We also recommend

STILL LIVES: IN THE HOMES OF ARTISTS, GREAT AND UNSUNG

STILL LIVES: IN THE HOMES OF ARTISTS, GREAT AND UNSUNG...

Add to cart

STILL LIVES: IN THE HOMES OF ARTISTS, GREAT AND UNSUNG

INVENTING THE CALIFORNIA LOOK THROUGH THE LENS OF FRED LYON...

Add to cart

STILL LIVES: IN THE HOMES OF ARTISTS, GREAT AND UNSUNG

EYRE DE LANUX...

Add to cart

STILL LIVES: IN THE HOMES OF ARTISTS, GREAT AND UNSUNG

LES APPARTEMENTS DU DUC ET DE LA DUCHESSE D'AUMALE...

Add to cart

Frais de port gratuits pour toute la France métropolitaine
à partir de 95 euros de commande.

> Catalogue

CHARLOTTE PERRIAND ET LE JAPON

CHARLOTTE PERRIAND ET LE JAPON
Agrandir

  • Auteur(s)Jacques Barsac
  • EditeurNorma
  • Date de publication2018-05-23
  • Langue(s)Français
  • IllustrationsIll. couleur et n&b
  • Pages334
  • DescriptionGrand format - Livre relié
  • Prix TTC49.00 €
  • DisponibilitéEn stock, expédié sous 48h.

Invitée en 1940 par le gouvernement japonais pour orienter la production d'art industriel du pays, Charlotte Perriand (1903-1999) rencontra une pensée - le théisme - et une architecture ancestrales, conformes aux préceptes modernistes qu'elle défendait avec Le Corbusier et Pierre Jeanneret. L'élaboration de son « art d'habiter », qui modifia profondément la manière de vivre des Français dans les années 50, est née en partie des réflexions et des études qu'elle a menées pendant sa mission au Japon.

Ses expositions au Japon, ses publications et ses études, ses réalisations à Tokyo - la maison de Jacques Martin (1953), l'agence Air France (1959) - et à Paris - la résidence de l'ambassadeur du Japon (1966-1969), le showroom Shiki Fabric House (1975) et la Maison de thé à l'Unesco (1993) - sont autant de témoignages des liens entre cultures occidentale et japonaise et de leur enrichissement réciproque.

Cet ouvrage, qui retrace un demi-siècle de dialogue entre Charlotte Perriand et le Japon, conçu à partir d'archives inédites, notes et dessins qui révèlent la liberté de pensée de cette grande créatrice engagée face aux enjeux d'une période complexe, est d'un enseignement précieux poulies nouvelles générations d'architectes et de designers, mais aussi pour l'homme d'aujourd'hui.

Prix TTC : 49.00 €

Commander

Décorateurs / Décoration

Nous vous conseillons également

JEAN-LOUIS DENIOT: INTERIORS

JEAN-LOUIS DENIOT: INTERIORS...

Ajouter au panier

JEAN-LOUIS DENIOT: INTERIORS

THE ENGLISH COUNTRY HOUSE...

Ajouter au panier

JEAN-LOUIS DENIOT: INTERIORS

INTERIORS: ATELIER AM...

Ajouter au panier

JEAN-LOUIS DENIOT: INTERIORS

ISABELLE STANISLAS
DESSINER L'ESPACE, CRÉER L'...

Ajouter au panier