New at Lardanchet. Free shipping for all of mainland France
for purchases over € 95.

> Catalogue

GUIDO RENI: THE DIVINE

GUIDO RENI: THE DIVINE
Enlarge

  • AuthorBastian Eclercy (dir.)
  • PublisherHatje Cantz
  • Date of publicationNovembre 2022
  • Language(s)English
  • IllustrationsColour ill.
  • Pages320
  • DescriptionHardback
  • Price (VAT incl.)50.00 €
  • AvailabilityOn order

Exhibition at the Städel Museum, Frankfurt, 23 November 2022 - 5 March 2023

Renowned for his religious and mythological subjects, Guido Reni (1575-1642) was one of the most successful and famous painters in Europe, coveted by the most important patrons, including Pope Paul V Borghese, the Duke of Mantua and the Queen of England. His particular way of translating the beauty of the divine into paint and his tendency to behave like a diva earned him the nickname "Il Divino".

Reni was one of the most influential figures in European painting for two centuries, before being sidelined in the nineteenth century due to other aesthetic preferences and relegated to the background by the one-sided focus on his rival, Caravaggio.

Based on the results of new research, this exhibition catalogue provides an insight into Guido Reni's artistic activities, but also into his ambiguous personality: deeply religious but also superstitious and addicted to gambling. For the first time in over thirty years, 130 paintings, drawings and prints by the artist are brought together, offering a new perspective on one of the greatest names in Italian art.

 

Price (VAT incl.) : 50.00 €

Checkout

Peinture ancienne

We also recommend

DÜRER PAR LE DÉTAIL

DÜRER PAR LE DÉTAIL...

Add to cart

DÜRER PAR LE DÉTAIL

THE MEDICI: PORTRAITS AND POLITICS 1512-1570...

Add to cart

DÜRER PAR LE DÉTAIL

EUGÈNE DE BEAUHARNAIS : UN PRINCE EUROPÉEN...

Add to cart

DÜRER PAR LE DÉTAIL

CHEFS-D'OEUVRE DE LA CHAMBRE DU ROI...

Add to cart

Frais de port gratuits pour toute la France métropolitaine
à partir de 95 euros de commande.

> Catalogue

GUIDO RENI: THE DIVINE

GUIDO RENI: THE DIVINE
Agrandir

  • Auteur(s)Bastian Eclercy (dir.)
  • EditeurHatje Cantz
  • Date de publicationNovembre 2022
  • Langue(s)Anglais
  • IllustrationsIll. en couleur
  • Pages320
  • DescriptionRelié
  • Prix TTC50.00 €
  • DisponibilitéSur commande

Exposition au Städel Museum, Francfort, 23 novembre 2022 - 5 mars 2023

Connu pour ses sujets religieux et mythologiques, Guido Reni (1575-1642) fut l'un des peintres les plus prospères et les plus célèbres de toute l'Europe, convoité par les mécènes les plus importants, dont le pape Paul V Borghèse, le duc de Mantoue et la reine d'Angleterre. Sa manière particulière de traduire en peinture la beauté du divin ainsi que sa tendance à se comporter comme une diva lui valurent le surnom de « Il Divino ».

Reni fut l'une des plus influentes figures de la peinture européenne pendant deux siècles, avant d'être mis à l'écart au XIXe siècle en raison d'autres préférences esthétiques et relégué au second plan par la concentration unilatérale sur son rival, le Caravage.

S'appuyant sur les résultats de nouvelles recherches, ce catalogue d'exposition donne un aperçu des activités artistiques de Guido Reni, mais aussi de sa personnalité ambiguë : profondément religieux mais aussi superstitieux et dépendant du jeu. Sont réunis pour la première fois depuis plus de trente ans 130 peintures, dessins et gravures de l'artiste, offrant ainsi une nouvelle perspective sur l'un des plus grands noms de l'art italien.

 

Prix TTC : 50.00 €

Commander

Peinture ancienne

Nous vous conseillons également

CHEFS-D'OEUVRE DE LA CHAMBRE DU ROI

CHEFS-D'OEUVRE DE LA CHAMBRE DU ROI...

Ajouter au panier

CHEFS-D'OEUVRE DE LA CHAMBRE DU ROI

ARTEMISIA, 1593-1654 : POUVOIR, GLOIRE ET PASSIONS D'UN...

Ajouter au panier

CHEFS-D'OEUVRE DE LA CHAMBRE DU ROI

LES PATEL : PAYSAGISTES DU XVIIE SIÈCLE...

Ajouter au panier

CHEFS-D'OEUVRE DE LA CHAMBRE DU ROI

PRINCES AND PAUPERS : THE ART OF JACQUES CALLOT...

Ajouter au panier