New at Lardanchet. Free shipping for all of mainland France
for purchases over € 140.

> Catalogue

ALICE BAILLY : LA FÊTE ÉTRANGE

ALICE BAILLY : LA FÊTE ÉTRANGE
Enlarge

  • AuthorPaul André Jaccard
  • Publisher5 Continents
  • Date of publicationOctobre 2005
  • Language(s)French
  • IllustrationsColour ill.
  • Pages224
  • DescriptionPaperback
  • Price (VAT incl.)37.00 €
  • AvailabilityOn order

Geneva-born artist Alice Bailly (1872-1938) affirmed her artistic vocation late in life. She made her first stay in Paris in 1906, and her talent was recognised as early as 1912, when her entries to the Parisian Salons were praised by Apollinaire, and especially in 1913, when her first solo exhibition enabled her to show that she belonged to the international avant-garde. Bailly made friends with many of her contemporaries including Cuno Amiet, André Lhote, Raoul Dufy, Juan Gris, Albert Gleizes and Guillaume Apollinaire.

Alice Bailly's art is characterised by a fantasy, an exuberance, a volubility, which found a plastic equivalent in cubism and futurism, from which she did not retain the discipline but the liberation of form and colour. Between 1917 and 1923, the artist executed some fifty "wool-paintings", multicoloured threads thrown in parallel lines onto a cotton canvas; for her, no difference in status, still less in artistic value, separated them from painting.

This richly illustrated first monograph devoted to Alice Bailly traces the singular career of the Swiss artist from her first stay in Paris and her Fauvist orientation to her evolution towards Orphic Cubism and Futurism, and then to her collages, wool paintings and decorations.

 

Price (VAT incl.) : 37.00 €

Checkout

Peinture moderne et art contemporain

We also recommend

BISSIÈRE : CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ 1886-1964

BISSIÈRE : CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ 1886-1964...

Add to cart

BISSIÈRE : CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ 1886-1964

BONNARD...

Add to cart

BISSIÈRE : CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ 1886-1964

TURNER...

Add to cart

BISSIÈRE : CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ 1886-1964

SERGE POLIAKOFF : CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ
Vol. 2 : 1955-1958...

Add to cart

Frais de port gratuits pour toute la France métropolitaine
à partir de 140 euros de commande.

> Catalogue

ALICE BAILLY : LA FÊTE ÉTRANGE

ALICE BAILLY : LA FÊTE ÉTRANGE
Agrandir

  • Auteur(s)Paul André Jaccard
  • Editeur5 Continents
  • Date de publicationOctobre 2005
  • Langue(s)Français
  • IllustrationsIll. en couleur
  • Pages224
  • DescriptionBroché
  • Prix TTC37.00 €
  • DisponibilitéSur commande

L'artiste genevoise Alice Bailly (1872-1938) affirme sa vocation artistique tardivement. Elle effectue son premier séjour à Paris en 1906, et son talent est reconnu dès 1912, lorsque ses envois aux Salons parisiens sont loués par Apollinaire, et surtout en 1913, quand sa première exposition personnelle lui permet d'afficher son appartenance à une avant-garde internationale. Bailly se lie avec un grand nombre de ses contemporains dont Cuno Amiet, André Lhote, Raoul Dufy, Juan Gris, Albert Gleizes et Guillaume Apollinaire.

L'art d'Alice Bailly se caractérise par une fantaisie, une exubérance, une volubilité, qui trouvèrent un équivalent plastique dans le cubisme et le futurisme, dont elle ne retient pas la discipline mais la libération de la forme et de la couleur. Entre 1917 et 1923, l'artiste exécute une cinquantaine de « tableaux-laine », des fils multicolores lancés en lignées parallèles sur une toile de coton ; pour elle aucune différence de statut, encore moins de valeur artistique, ne les séparait de la peinture.

Très richement illustrée, cette première monographie consacrée à Alice Bailly retrace le parcours singulier de l'artiste suisse de son premier séjour à Paris et son orientation fauviste à son évolution vers le cubisme orphique et le futurisme, puis à ses collages, tableaux-laines et décorations.

 

Prix TTC : 37.00 €

Commander

Peinture moderne et art contemporain

Nous vous conseillons également

BEN NICHOLSON: FROM THE STUDIO

BEN NICHOLSON: FROM THE STUDIO...

Ajouter au panier

BEN NICHOLSON: FROM THE STUDIO

Cy Twombly Fifty days at Iliam...

Ajouter au panier

BEN NICHOLSON: FROM THE STUDIO

RENÉ MAGRITTE : NEWLY DISCOVERED WORKS
CATALOGUE RAISONN...

Ajouter au panier

BEN NICHOLSON: FROM THE STUDIO

ANISH KAPOOR PAINTING...

Ajouter au panier