New at Lardanchet. Free shipping for all of mainland France
for purchases over € 140.

> Catalogue

ARTEMISIA GENTILESCHI: THE LANGUAGE OF PAINTING

ARTEMISIA GENTILESCHI: THE LANGUAGE OF PAINTING
Enlarge

  • AuthorJesse Locker
  • PublisherYale University Pres
  • Date of publicationJanvier 2021
  • Language(s)English
  • IllustrationsColour, b&w ill.
  • Pages248
  • DescriptionPaperback
  • Price (VAT incl.)40.00 €
  • AvailabilityOn order

Hailed as one of the most influential and expressive painters of the seventeenth century, Artemisia Gentileschi (1593-ca. 1656) has figured prominently in the art historical discourse of the past two decades.

This attention to Artemisia, after many years of scholarly neglect, is partially due to interest in the dramatic details of her early life, including the widely publicized rape trial of her painting tutor, Agostino Tassi, and her admission to Florence's esteemed Accademia del Disegno. While the artist's early paintings have been extensively discussed, her later work has been largely dismissed.

This beautifully illustrated book provides a revolutionary look at Artemisia's later career, refuting longstanding assumptions about the artist. The fact that she was semi-illiterate has erroneously led scholars to assume a lack of literary and cultural education on her part. Stressing the importance of orality in Baroque culture and in Artemisia's paintings, this volume argues for Artemisia's important place in the cultural dialogue of the seventeenth century.

Price (VAT incl.) : 40.00 €

Checkout

Peinture ancienne

We also recommend

CHARDIN

CHARDIN...

Add to cart

CHARDIN

POUSSIN & L'AMOUR...

Add to cart

CHARDIN

DIERIC BOUTS: CREATOR OF IMAGES...

Add to cart

CHARDIN

CLAUDE LORRAIN : DESSINS ET EAUX-FORTES...

Add to cart

Frais de port gratuits pour toute la France métropolitaine
à partir de 140 euros de commande.

> Catalogue

ARTEMISIA GENTILESCHI: THE LANGUAGE OF PAINTING

ARTEMISIA GENTILESCHI: THE LANGUAGE OF PAINTING
Agrandir

  • Auteur(s)Jesse Locker
  • EditeurYale University Pres
  • Date de publicationJanvier 2021
  • Langue(s)Anglais
  • IllustrationsIll. couleur et n&b
  • Pages248
  • DescriptionBroché
  • Prix TTC40.00 €
  • DisponibilitéEn stock, expédié sous 48h.

Reconnue comme l'un des peintres les plus influents et les plus expressifs du XVIIe siècle, Artemisia Gentileschi (1593-vers 1656) a occupé une place prépondérante dans le discours de l'histoire de l'art au cours des deux dernières décennies.

Cette attention portée à Artemisia, après de nombreuses années de négligence de la part des chercheurs, est en partie due à l'intérêt porté aux détails dramatiques de ses débuts, notamment le procès pour viol largement médiatisé de son tuteur en peinture, Agostino Tassi, et son admission à l'Accademia del Disegno de Florence, qui jouit d'une grande renommée. Si les premières peintures de l'artiste ont fait l'objet de nombreuses discussions, ses œuvres ultérieures ont été largement ignorées.

Ce livre magnifiquement illustré jette un regard révolutionnaire sur la dernière carrière d'Artemisia, réfutant des hypothèses de longue date sur l'artiste. Le fait qu'elle était semi-analphabète a conduit les chercheurs à supposer à tort qu'elle n'avait pas reçu d'éducation littéraire et culturelle. Soulignant l'importance de l'oralité dans la culture baroque et dans les peintures d'Artemisia, l'ouvrage plaide en faveur de la place importante qu'Artemisia occupe dans le dialogue culturel du XVIIe siècle.

Prix TTC : 40.00 €

Commander

Peinture ancienne

Nous vous conseillons également

LES THELLUSSON <br>UNE DYNASTIE DE GRANDS AMATEURS D'ART = A DYNASTY OF GREAT ART LOVERS

LES THELLUSSON
UNE DYNASTIE DE GRANDS AMATEURS D'AR...

Ajouter au panier

LES THELLUSSON <br>UNE DYNASTIE DE GRANDS AMATEURS D'ART = A DYNASTY OF GREAT ART LOVERS

GUY FRANÇOIS, VERS 1758-1650 : PEINTRE CARAVAGESQUE DU PUY-E...

Ajouter au panier

LES THELLUSSON <br>UNE DYNASTIE DE GRANDS AMATEURS D'ART = A DYNASTY OF GREAT ART LOVERS

LES SALLES DES CROISADES...

Ajouter au panier

LES THELLUSSON <br>UNE DYNASTIE DE GRANDS AMATEURS D'ART = A DYNASTY OF GREAT ART LOVERS

DANIEL DUMONSTIER, 1574-1646...

Ajouter au panier