New at Lardanchet. Free shipping for all of mainland France
for purchases over € 140.

> Catalogue

DIERIC BOUTS: CREATOR OF IMAGES

DIERIC BOUTS: CREATOR OF IMAGES
Enlarge

  • AuthorCollectif
  • PublisherPrestel
  • Date of publicationNovembre 2023
  • Language(s)English
  • IllustrationsColour ill.
  • Pages240
  • DescriptionHardback
  • Price (VAT incl.)68.00 €
  • AvailabilityShipping within 48 hours

Exhibition at the M, Leuven, 20 October 2023 - 14 January 2024

Dieric Bouts (c. 1410-1475), one of the most important Flemish Masters, can be considered the equal of Jan Van Eyck or Rogier Van der Weyden. The artist spent most of his life in Leuven, where he painted his most beautiful panels, scenes of great richness, powerful portraits and landscapes with a supernatural atmosphere.

A master of composition, technical precision and spiritual message, Bouts was also, as this book suggests, a shrewd commercial artist who managed to secure major commissions and expertly convey religious devotion.

This exhibition catalogue offers a radical and unconventional new examination of one of the most important Flemish masters: it presents Bouts as an image-maker and considers his work alongside that of today's film-makers, game designers and sports photographers. Enriched with new insights based on the latest research, this volume explores how Bouts' career was influenced by the cultural and political environment of his native Leuven. Filled with reproductions and photographs of Bouts' most important paintings and altarpieces, it examines several in depth, including The Last Supper, The Triptych of the Descent from the Cross, The Martyrdom of Saint Erasmus with Saints Jerome and Bernard, and Christ Crowned with Thorns.

 

Price (VAT incl.) : 68.00 €

Checkout

Peinture ancienne

We also recommend

EUGÈNE DE BEAUHARNAIS : UN PRINCE EUROPÉEN

EUGÈNE DE BEAUHARNAIS : UN PRINCE EUROPÉEN...

Add to cart

EUGÈNE DE BEAUHARNAIS : UN PRINCE EUROPÉEN

LE PALAIS-ROYAL, HIER ET AUJOURD'HUI
D'APRÈS ...

Add to cart

EUGÈNE DE BEAUHARNAIS : UN PRINCE EUROPÉEN

POMPEO BATONI
A COMPLETE CATALOGUE OF HIS PAINTINGS...

Add to cart

EUGÈNE DE BEAUHARNAIS : UN PRINCE EUROPÉEN

LOUIS XV : PASSIONS D'UN ROI...

Add to cart

Frais de port gratuits pour toute la France métropolitaine
à partir de 140 euros de commande.

> Catalogue

DIERIC BOUTS: CREATOR OF IMAGES

DIERIC BOUTS: CREATOR OF IMAGES
Agrandir

  • Auteur(s)Collectif
  • EditeurPrestel
  • Date de publicationNovembre 2023
  • Langue(s)Anglais
  • IllustrationsIll. en couleur
  • Pages240
  • DescriptionRelié
  • Prix TTC68.00 €
  • DisponibilitéEn stock, expédié sous 48h.

Exposition au M, Louvain, 20 octobre 2023 - 14 janvier 2024

Dieric Bouts (v. 1410-1475), l'un des Maîtres flamands les plus importants, peut être considéré comme l'égal de Jan Van Eyck ou Rogier Van der Weyden. L'artiste a passé la majeure partie de sa vie à Louvain, où il a peint ses plus beaux panneaux, des scènes d'une grande richesse, des portraits puissants et des paysages à l'ambiance surnaturelle.

Maître de la composition, de la précision technique et du message spirituel, Bouts était également, comme le suggère cet ouvrage, un artiste commercial avisé, qui a réussi à obtenir d'importantes commandes et à transmettre la dévotion religieuse de manière experte.

Ce catalogue d'exposition offre un nouvel examen radical et non conventionnel de l'un des plus importants maîtres flamands : il présente Bouts comme un créateur d'images et considère son œuvre à côté du travail des cinéastes, des créateurs de jeux et des photographes sportifs d'aujourd'hui. Enrichi de nouvelles perspectives fondées sur les recherches les plus récentes, ce volume explore la manière dont la carrière de Bouts a été influencée par l'environnement culturel et politique de sa ville natale de Louvain. Rempli de reproductions et de photographies des tableaux et retables les plus importants de Bouts, il en étudie plusieurs en profondeur, notamment La Cène, Le Triptyque de la descente de croix, Le Martyre de saint Érasme avec les saints Jérôme et Bernard, et Le Christ couronné d'épines.

 

Prix TTC : 68.00 €

Commander

Peinture ancienne

Nous vous conseillons également

PRUD'HON OU LE RÊVE DU BONHEUR, 1758-1823

PRUD'HON OU LE RÊVE DU BONHEUR, 1758-1823...

Ajouter au panier

PRUD'HON OU LE RÊVE DU BONHEUR, 1758-1823

REMBRANDT'S ORIENT: WEST MEETS EAST IN DUTCH ART OF THE...

Ajouter au panier

PRUD'HON OU LE RÊVE DU BONHEUR, 1758-1823

JEAN-BAPTISTE SOYER : PEINTRE MINIATURISTE LORRAIN 1752-1828...

Ajouter au panier

PRUD'HON OU LE RÊVE DU BONHEUR, 1758-1823

ÉCRIRE LE CORPS : DE L'ANTIQUITÉ À NOS JOURS...

Ajouter au panier