New at Lardanchet. Free shipping for all of mainland France
for purchases over € 140.

> Catalogue

FRANCES ELKINS: VISIONARY AMERICAN DESIGNER

FRANCES ELKINS: VISIONARY AMERICAN DESIGNER
Enlarge

  • AuthorScott Powell
  • PublisherRizzoli
  • Date of publicationMars 2023
  • Language(s)English
  • IllustrationsColour, b&w ill.
  • Pages304
  • DescriptionHardback
  • Price (VAT incl.)72.00 €
  • AvailabilityShipping within 48 hours

Frances Elkins (1888-1953) was admired for her classic, erudite and multi-dimensional designs. Ahead of her time, she became a successful decorator who, by the early 1930s, had reached the pinnacle of her profession and was considered to be Wolfe's only rival.

Frances Elkins brought an international perspective and architectural sensibility to her work. Her social circle included interior designer Jean-Michel Frank, fashion designer Coco Chanel, aesthete Charles de Beistegui, patron Misia Sert and painter Salvador Dali. For her clients, she brought modern European chic and a blend of the best of American, English, French, Asian and Mexican traditions. A talented designer of furniture and fabrics, as well as an interior decorator, she collaborated with many prominent people.

Featuring previously unpublished material, this book includes more than sixty interiors that illustrate Frances Elkins's exceptional sense of colour and gift for blending eras and styles - from her early work on the Monterey Peninsula, to the homes she designed with her brother in Chicago in the 1920s and 1930s, to commissions for such iconic hotels as the Royal Hawaiian Hotel in Honolulu, the homes of film star Edward G. Robinson, bank heiress Celia Tobin Clark and advertising legend Albert Lasker.

 

Price (VAT incl.) : 72.00 €

Checkout

Décorateurs / Décoration

We also recommend

INTÉRIEURS JAPONAIS

INTÉRIEURS JAPONAIS...

Add to cart

INTÉRIEURS JAPONAIS

RENÉ PROU...

Add to cart

INTÉRIEURS JAPONAIS

MAISONS DE VERRE : ARCHITECTURE DE LA TRANSPARENCE...

Add to cart

INTÉRIEURS JAPONAIS

HABITER LA FORÊT...

Add to cart

Frais de port gratuits pour toute la France métropolitaine
à partir de 140 euros de commande.

> Catalogue

FRANCES ELKINS: VISIONARY AMERICAN DESIGNER

FRANCES ELKINS: VISIONARY AMERICAN DESIGNER
Agrandir

  • Auteur(s)Scott Powell
  • EditeurRizzoli
  • Date de publicationMars 2023
  • Langue(s)Anglais
  • IllustrationsIll. couleur et n&b
  • Pages304
  • DescriptionRelié
  • Prix TTC72.00 €
  • DisponibilitéEn stock, expédié sous 48h.

Frances Elkins (1888-1953) a été admirée pour ses décors classiques, érudits et multidimensionnels. En avance sur son temps, elle est devenue une décoratrice à succès qui, au début des années 1930, avait atteint le sommet de sa profession et était considérée comme la seule rivale d'Elsie de Wolfe.

Frances Elkins a apporté une perspective internationale et une sensibilité architecturale à son travail. Son cercle social comprenait l'architecte d'intérieur Jean-Michel Frank, la couturière Coco Chanel, l'esthète Charles de Beistegui, la mécène Misia Sert et le peintre Salvador Dali. Pour ses clients, elle apportait un chic européen moderne ainsi qu'un mélange du meilleur des traditions américaines, anglaises, françaises, asiatiques et mexicaines. Créatrice talentueuse de meubles et de tissus, ainsi que décoratrice d'intérieur, elle a collaboré avec de nombreuses personnalités.

Présentant des documents inédits, cet ouvrage comprend plus de soixante intérieurs qui illustrent le sens exceptionnel de la couleur et le don de Frances Elkins pour mélanger les époques et les styles - de ses premiers travaux sur la péninsule de Monterey aux maisons qu'elle a conçues avec son frère à Chicago dans les années 1920 et 1930, en passant par les commandes d'hôtels emblématiques tels que le Royal Hawaiian Hotel à Honolulu, les maisons de la star de cinéma Edward G. Robinson, de l'héritière de la banque Celia Tobin Clark et de la légende de la publicité Albert Lasker.

 

Prix TTC : 72.00 €

Commander

Décorateurs / Décoration

Nous vous conseillons également

NICOLAS SCHUYBROEK: SELECTED WORKS, VOLUME ONE

NICOLAS SCHUYBROEK: SELECTED WORKS, VOLUME ONE...

Ajouter au panier

NICOLAS SCHUYBROEK: SELECTED WORKS, VOLUME ONE

PAUL TISSIER : L'ARCHITECTE DES FÊTES DES ANNÉES FOLLES...

Ajouter au panier

NICOLAS SCHUYBROEK: SELECTED WORKS, VOLUME ONE

ROOMS WITH A HISTORY...

Ajouter au panier

NICOLAS SCHUYBROEK: SELECTED WORKS, VOLUME ONE

CASA LOPEZ, UN ART DE VIVRE : PIERRE SAUVAGE...

Ajouter au panier