New at Lardanchet. Free shipping for all of mainland France
for purchases over € 140.

> Catalogue

LOUIS LAGRENÉE, 1725-1805

LOUIS LAGRENÉE, 1725-1805
Enlarge

  • AuthorJoseph Assémat Tessandier
  • PublisherArthena
  • Date of publicationNovembre 2022
  • Language(s)French
  • IllustrationsColour, b&w ill.
  • Pages472
  • DescriptionHardback
  • Price (VAT incl.)125.00 €
  • AvailabilityShipping within 48 hours

Louis Lagrenée (1725-1805), a history painter with a successful official career, presented more than 150 paintings at the Salon du Louvre from 1755 to 1789. His paintings, which repeatedly aroused the enthusiasm of Diderot, were appreciated in financial and aristocratic circles, even at the Russian Court, and his triumph at the 1763 Salon gave him access to commissions for the royal residences.

Lagrenée then took part in the programme to encourage historical painting organised by the Count of Angiviller from 1777 to 1789. From his small cabinet paintings (Virgin and Child, allegories or mythological scenes) to large subjects inspired by ancient history, his refined and refined style with delicate colours earned him the nickname "French Albanian".

Based on the discoveries of recent years (sketchbooks, preparatory drawings and the reappearance of lost works), which have doubled the known corpus of Louis Lagrenée, thus differentiating him from his brother Jean-Jacques (1739-1821), this monograph sheds new light on his art, a precious milestone in the evolution of French painting towards the emerging neoclassicism.

 

Price (VAT incl.) : 125.00 €

Checkout

Peinture ancienne

We also recommend

CARMONTELLE AU JARDIN DES ILLUSIONS

CARMONTELLE AU JARDIN DES ILLUSIONS...

Add to cart

CARMONTELLE AU JARDIN DES ILLUSIONS

AMBROISE DUBOIS : UN MAÎTRE DE L'ÉCOLE DE FONTAINEBLEAU...

Add to cart

CARMONTELLE AU JARDIN DES ILLUSIONS

NAPLES À PARIS
LE LOUVRE INVITE LE MUSÉE DE CAPODIMONTE...

Add to cart

CARMONTELLE AU JARDIN DES ILLUSIONS

L'ARGENT DANS L'ART...

Add to cart

Frais de port gratuits pour toute la France métropolitaine
à partir de 140 euros de commande.

> Catalogue

LOUIS LAGRENÉE, 1725-1805

LOUIS LAGRENÉE, 1725-1805
Agrandir

  • Auteur(s)Joseph Assémat Tessandier
  • EditeurArthena
  • Date de publicationNovembre 2022
  • Langue(s)Français
  • IllustrationsIll. couleur et n&b
  • Pages472
  • DescriptionRelié
  • Prix TTC125.00 €
  • DisponibilitéEn stock, expédié sous 48h.

Peintre d'Histoire à la belle carrière officielle, Louis Lagrenée (1725-1805) présente plus de 150 tableaux au Salon du Louvre de 1755 à 1789. Soulevant à plusieurs reprises l'enthousiasme de Diderot, sa peinture est appréciée des milieux financiers et aristocratiques, jusqu'à la Cour de Russie et son succès au Salon de 1763 lui donne accès aux commandes pour les demeures royales.

Lagrenée participe ensuite au programme d'encouragement de la peinture d'Histoire organisé par le comte d'Angiviller de 1777 à 1789. De ses petits tableaux de cabinet (Vierge à l'Enfant, allégories ou scènes mythologiques) aux grands sujets inspirés de l'histoire ancienne, son style épuré et raffiné au coloris délicat lui vaut le surnom d'"Albane français".

S'appuyant sur les découvertes de ces dernières années (carnets de croquis, dessins préparatoires et réapparition d'œuvres perdues) qui ont permis de doubler le corpus connu de Louis Lagrenée, ainsi différencié de son frère Jean-Jacques (1739-1821), cette monographie apporte un nouvel éclairage sur son art, jalon précieux dans l'évolution de la peinture française vers le néoclassicisme naissant.

 

 

Prix TTC : 125.00 €

Commander

Peinture ancienne

Nous vous conseillons également

LE TÉMOIN MECONNU : PIERRE-ANTOINE DEMACHY, 1723-1807

LE TÉMOIN MECONNU : PIERRE-ANTOINE DEMACHY, 1723-1807...

Ajouter au panier

LE TÉMOIN MECONNU : PIERRE-ANTOINE DEMACHY, 1723-1807

JOSEPH-BENOÎT SUVÉE, 1743-1807 :
UN ARTISTE ENTRE BRUGES,...

Ajouter au panier

LE TÉMOIN MECONNU : PIERRE-ANTOINE DEMACHY, 1723-1807

LES MAYS DE NOTRE-DAME DE PARIS, 1630-1707...

Ajouter au panier

LE TÉMOIN MECONNU : PIERRE-ANTOINE DEMACHY, 1723-1807

RÉSEAUX ET INFLUENCES AUTOUR D'ANTOINE WATTEAU, 1684-17...

Ajouter au panier