New at Lardanchet. Free shipping for all of mainland France
for purchases over € 140.

> Catalogue

TURNER

TURNER
Enlarge

  • AuthorJohn Gage
  • PublisherCitadelles & Mazenod
  • Date of publicationMars 2023
  • Language(s)French
  • IllustrationsColour ill.
  • Pages399
  • DescriptionHardback in slipcase
  • Price (VAT incl.)199.00 €
  • AvailabilityShipping within 48 hours

New edition

Turner (1775-1851) is, with Constable, his contemporary, the greatest English painter of the 19th century. The son of a London barber and wigmaker, he first became famous for his watercolour landscapes. At 26, he was the youngest artist ever elected to the Royal Academy. A long and prolific career then began.

With his sketchbook in hand, he never stopped travelling around Great Britain and Europe, from the Alps to the banks of the Rhine, from Calais to Rome, from Nantes to Venice, in search of the visual emotions that would feed his pictorial research. He gradually escaped academic traditions, his reflections on composition and colour leading him to the invention of radically new forms. His gradual enthusiasm gave his subjects a dreamlike and fantastic dimension, the visionary scope of which his contemporaries failed to grasp, with the notable exception of John Ruskin, who, from 1840 onwards, elevated him to the pantheon of English artists. Moreau, Monet, Pisarro, Renoir and Ensor followed in his footsteps and took the measure of the painter's modernity.

This highly illustrated monograph traces the intellectual path and interests that nourished Turner's work. Through a thematic approach, it explores his genius for sublimating the legacy of the masters of the past to open up singular horizons for painting.

 

Price (VAT incl.) : 199.00 €

Checkout

Peinture moderne et art contemporain

We also recommend

GEORGE DESVALLIÈRES<br>CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ DE L'OEUVRE COMPLET

GEORGE DESVALLIÈRES
CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ DE L'OEUVRE C...

Add to cart

GEORGE DESVALLIÈRES<br>CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ DE L'OEUVRE COMPLET

EUGÈNE CARRIÈRE : SCÈNES DE LA VIE DOMESTIQUE...

Add to cart

GEORGE DESVALLIÈRES<br>CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ DE L'OEUVRE COMPLET

SICKERT : LA PROVOCATION ET L'ÉNIGME...

Add to cart

GEORGE DESVALLIÈRES<br>CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ DE L'OEUVRE COMPLET

BERNARD BUFFET : CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ DE L'OEUVRE PEINT <...

Add to cart

Frais de port gratuits pour toute la France métropolitaine
à partir de 140 euros de commande.

> Catalogue

TURNER

TURNER
Agrandir

  • Auteur(s)John Gage
  • EditeurCitadelles & Mazenod
  • Date de publicationMars 2023
  • Langue(s)Français
  • IllustrationsIll. en couleur
  • Pages399
  • DescriptionRelié sous coffret
  • Prix TTC199.00 €
  • DisponibilitéEn stock, expédié sous 48h.

Nouvelle édition

Turner (1775-1851) est, avec Constable, son contemporain, le plus grand peintre anglais du XIXe siècle. Fils d'un barbier-perruquier londonien, il s'illustre d'abord par ses aquarelles de paysages. À 26 ans, il est le plus jeune artiste jamais élu à la Royal Academy. Commence alors une longue et prolifique carrière.

Carnet de croquis en main, il n'aura de cesse de parcourir la Grande-Bretagne et l'Europe, des Alpes aux rives du Rhin, de Calais à Rome, de Nantes à Venise en quête d'émotions visuelles propres à nourrir ses recherches picturales. Il échappe peu à peu aux traditions académiques, ses réflexions sur la composition et la couleur le conduisant à l'invention de formes radicalement nouvelles. Son embrasement progressif donne à ses sujets une dimension onirique et fantastique dont ses contemporains ne saisiront pas la portée visionnaire, à l'exception notable de John Ruskin, qui dès 1840 le hisse au panthéon des artistes anglais. À sa suite Moreau, Monet, Pisarro, Renoir ou Ensor prendront la mesure de la modernité du peintre.

Cette monographie très illustrée retrace le parcours intellectuel et les centres d'intérêt qui ont nourri l'œuvre de Turner. À travers une approche thématique, il explore son génie à sublimer l'héritage des maîtres du passé pour ouvrir à la peinture des horizons singuliers.

 

Prix TTC : 199.00 €

Commander

Peinture moderne et art contemporain

Nous vous conseillons également

PLON-PLON, UN BONAPARTE ROUGE ET OR

PLON-PLON, UN BONAPARTE ROUGE ET OR...

Ajouter au panier

PLON-PLON, UN BONAPARTE ROUGE ET OR

BERTHE MORISOT ET L'ART DU XVIIIe SIÈCLE...

Ajouter au panier

PLON-PLON, UN BONAPARTE ROUGE ET OR

COBRA COLLECTION...

Ajouter au panier

PLON-PLON, UN BONAPARTE ROUGE ET OR

EDWARD HOPPER & CAPE ANN
ILLUMINATING AN AMERICAN LANDS...

Ajouter au panier