New at Lardanchet. Free shipping for all of mainland France
for purchases over € 140.

> Catalogue

BASQUIAT : THE MODENA PAINTINGS

BASQUIAT : THE MODENA PAINTINGS
Enlarge

  • AuthorIris Hasler, Sam Keller (dir.)
  • PublisherHatje Cantz
  • Date of publicationJuin 2023
  • Language(s)English
  • IllustrationsColour, b&w ill.
  • Pages126
  • DescriptionPaperback
  • Price (VAT incl.)38.00 €
  • AvailabilityShipping within 48 hours

Exhibition at Fondation Beyeler, Riehen/Basel, 11 June - 27 August 2023

Jean-Michel Basquiat (1960-1988) is one of the most important artists of the 20th century. Emerging from the underground post-punk scene in Lower Manhattan, he attracted the attention of the art world in 1981 with the legendary group exhibition New York/New Wave. In nine prolific years, he created an oeuvre that formulated a new visual language of raw gestural painting fused with dense writing, and repeatedly reflected the oppression, exclusion and exploitation of People of Color.

Numerous publications and exhibitions have examined Jean-Michel Basquiat's extensive oeuvre that consists of more than 3000 works. This exhibition catalogue, however, focuses on eight paintings: in summer 1982, Basquiat traveled to Modena, Italy, for one of his first solo exhibitions in Europe at the gallery of Emilio Mazzoli. Within just a few days, he painted a group of large-format paintings that surpassed his previous work. Each at least two by four meters in size, they mark his transition from graffiti spraying in the streets of Manhattan to painting on canvas.

These paintings-including masterpieces that today are considered among the most outstanding of his oeuvre-have never been shown together. This catalogue revisits this crucial moment of Basquiat's career some 40 years ago and reunites them for the first time.

 

Price (VAT incl.) : 38.00 €

Checkout

Peinture moderne et art contemporain

We also recommend

SERGE POLIAKOFF : CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ ET MONOGRAPHIE <br>Vol. 1 : 1900-1954

SERGE POLIAKOFF : CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ ET MONOGRAPHIE
Vol....

Add to cart

SERGE POLIAKOFF : CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ ET MONOGRAPHIE <br>Vol. 1 : 1900-1954

JEAN-BAPTISTE SÉCHERET : MONOTYPES 1976-2023...

Add to cart

SERGE POLIAKOFF : CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ ET MONOGRAPHIE <br>Vol. 1 : 1900-1954

LYONEL FEININGER RETROSPECTIVE...

Add to cart

SERGE POLIAKOFF : CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ ET MONOGRAPHIE <br>Vol. 1 : 1900-1954

DENIS POLGE : TERRA INCOGNITA...

Add to cart

Frais de port gratuits pour toute la France métropolitaine
à partir de 140 euros de commande.

> Catalogue

BASQUIAT : THE MODENA PAINTINGS

BASQUIAT : THE MODENA PAINTINGS
Agrandir

  • Auteur(s)Iris Hasler, Sam Keller (dir.)
  • EditeurHatje Cantz
  • Date de publicationJuin 2023
  • Langue(s)Anglais
  • IllustrationsIll. couleur et n&b
  • Pages126
  • DescriptionBroché
  • Prix TTC38.00 €
  • DisponibilitéEn stock, expédié sous 48h.

Exposition à la Fondation Beyeler, Riehen/Bâle, 11 juin - 27 août 2023

Jean-Michel Basquiat (1960-1988) est l'un des artistes les plus importants du XXe siècle. Issu de la scène underground post-punk du Lower Manhattan, il attire l'attention du monde de l'art en 1981 avec l'exposition collective New York/New Wave. En neuf années prolifiques, il a créé un œuvre qui a formulé un nouveau langage visuel de peinture gestuelle brute fusionnée avec une écriture dense, et qui a reflété à plusieurs reprises l'oppression, l'exclusion et l'exploitation des personnes de couleur.

De nombreuses publications et expositions se sont penchées sur la production considérable de Basquiat, qui compte plus de 3 000 œuvres. Ce catalogue d'exposition se concentre toutefois sur huit peintures : au cours de l'été 1982, Basquiat se rend à Modène pour l'une de ses premières expositions personnelles en Europe, à la galerie d'Emilio Mazzoli. En l'espace de quelques jours, il peint un groupe de tableaux de grand format qui surpassent ses travaux précédents. D'une taille d'au moins deux mètres sur quatre, ces toiles marquent son passage du graffiti dans les rues de Manhattan à la peinture sur toile.

Ces peintures, dont des chefs-d'œuvre aujourd'hui considérés parmi les plus remarquables de son œuvre, n'ont jamais été exposées ensemble. Ce catalogue revient sur ce moment crucial de la carrière de Basquiat et les réunit pour la première fois.

Prix TTC : 38.00 €

Commander

Peinture moderne et art contemporain

Nous vous conseillons également

Degas et le nu

Degas et le nu...

Ajouter au panier

Degas et le nu

JOAN MIRÓ : PAINTINGS, CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ
VOL. 4 : 1959-...

Ajouter au panier

Degas et le nu

Cy Twombly...

Ajouter au panier

Degas et le nu

SURREAL SPACES: THE LIFE AND ART OF LEONORA CARRINGTON...

Ajouter au panier